WildHumm

If you love colorful things like I do, then you’re also going to love what Bianca from WildHumm does! She is a 24 year old artist {and chemist!} from New York currently based in Boston with the dream of moving to Brooklyn.

I have been following Bianca on Instagram for a little while and I am in love with her unique art and I’m more than happy and excited to have her as a guest on my blog!

evergreen

How and when did you start making art? And when did you open your Etsy shop?

I grew up in a house of artists – my parents have an impressive (and seemingly never ending) set of skills and I feel lucky to have been raised by such creative hands. I’ve been painting since I was very young. Art is such a huge part of my life, but I went to school to study chemistry. Whenever I had a free moment when I wasn’t drowning in work, I would paint. My apartment quickly began to fill with paintings and my boyfriend suggested that I make an effort to sell them instead of just hoarding them as products of a stress outlet. So, following his advice, I opened my shop in 2012 as a hobby, but I didn’t seriously put any effort into it until last year, my first year of grad school (more stress=more creative production!).

rain

Your art is so unique and abstract. What inspires you to make abstract pieces?

Abstract art makes you think. I find that I never look at an abstract painting and see the same thing twice. What you see is completely a reflection of who you are at that moment in time, and in a way the painting can grow with you. It’s not just a static portrait; it’s something more than that. I also find the freedom and movement allowed in an abstract painting to be the most exciting to make.

abstract1

How would you define WildHumm?

That is an excellent question! I really don’t like to put myself in a creative box- I like to make things that make me happy at the end of the day, so there is definitely a mix of mediums and styles in my shop. But, I suppose everything is bright and fun, maybe that’s what defines my work?

illustrations

Are you a full time artist or do you do something else?

I wish! I’m actually working on my masters in Environmental Science right now, focusing on contaminant transport in a local river. I’m in my last year so things are pretty hectic right now! I try to pull myself away from my thesis, my classes, and mountains of grading, and keep at least the hours between 10pm and midnight reserved for painting during the week.

brushes

Tell us how a day in your life looks like. 

Well, right now things are pretty hectic and boring at the same time because I’m still finishing up my masters. But, my favorite day of the week is Saturday- this is the day that I just throw out every responsibility and do whatever I want! I’ll meet my boyfriend for coffee and walk over to this awesome local bakery and get something delicious and handmade that day (shout out to Clear Flour in Brookline!). Then, we usually go for a walk around Boston, maybe feed the pigeons, and I’ll spend the rest of the afternoon painting. I’m a seriously messy person when I start painting; I’m definitely my father’s daughter. There’s paint and tape and paper all over the place, my poor white Ikea desk is so stained and battered at this point!

paint

Share 3 things that you have learned about being an artist.

1- Welcome mistakes, you might learn something new if you just go with it.
2- Don’t compare yourself to others, in style or “success,” you will only drive yourself crazy and fill yourself with doubt.
3- Do what makes you happy, and do it as often as you can!

watercolors

How has being an artist and a small business owner made you change and grow?

It’s certainly still a learning curve for me. When I first started out in 2012, I thought that if I simply put my work out there on Etsy, people would notice. But, they didn’t! It’s all about reaching out to people, and learning the new ways to get your work out into the world. It is a lot of work, but definitely a labor of love.

desk
Share 3 artists, blogs and/or etsy shops that you love.

Three artists that I love:

1-Beautiful handmade weavings by Jujust 
2-Adorable hand painted ceramics by Marinski Handemades 
3-Oil portraits by Kail Samuel Davis 

leaves

Make sure you to check out WildHumm and get yourself some original art -paintings, stationery, illustrations, banners & garlands. And don’t forget to keep up with Bianca’s social media for shop updates, sales, and all sorts of pretty colorful art!

Shop
Instagram
Facebook 
Pinterest

Anita

*All images by WildHumm

One thought on “WildHumm

Leave a Reply

