Undervalued?

Cup of Gatos

Being an artist is not an easy job at all. To me, being an artist is extremely fun, rewarding, and I consider it the best job I’ve ever had, but it definitely is no easy thing.

There is no other way of saying this: lately I’ve been feeling a little artistically undervalued. I’ve received comments saying that my work is too expensive. I know that a lot of my followers/fans are very young, therefore they don’t have a job and still depend financially on their parents; so maybe that’s the source of those type of comments. This obviously doesn’t apply to everyone but I still wanted to address this situation and point out a couple of things:

* There are a lot of expenses to consider when owning a business: materials, fees {Etsy or PayPal}, shipping supplies, gas {for baking}, trips to the post office, etc. All those things come into play when it’s time to price a product + the time, effort, love spent on each and every single piece of work.

*My creations are meant to be considered little treasures. They are made for that purpose, they’re cute little pieces of art that you can either carry with you in their protective box or bag or decorate a room, desk, workplace. My slogan says it all “Experience art in the cutest way”.

*You get what you pay. I am constantly looking for ways to give my customers a better and better experience every time they get something from my shop. I love my customers and I’m willing to go above and beyond to make them happy.

*It’s rude to make such comments. I don’t take offense but it’s still not cool. We should never judge artists.

*Maybe sometimes it’s hard to remember that what I do IS art because my pieces are generally very small? But it is still art, you guys :)

Gatos on a plate

I LOVE what I do and I don’t do it for the money but to make people happy and share the abilities that God has given me.

Remember that if you can’t really afford anything I always have sales going on and I do giveaways on Instagram all the time :)

I can’t thank you all enough for following me on any type of social media and for your support! You all have a piece of my heart <3

Anita

 

Leave a Reply

